Top activities… BabyCalm

Jpeg

At 10 weeks old, Sprog and I were doing fairly well when we started our BabyCalm course with the lovely Naomi.

I remember introducing ourselves and describing him as a generally calm baby but I was just after some ideas for ‘in case’, he then screamed pretty much non-stop for the 2 hour session as he couldn’t get latched on when I was trying to feed him! Unfortunately for us, it was our first go at feeding out because before then I hadn’t felt confident enough, and when I was ready, he wasn’t!  So much for a completely calm baby!!

Naomi allowed everyone to talk openly and led discussions about all manner of parenting topics. It was so good to be able to share that development with 3 other new mum’s. Naomi shared the research, reading and some of her own experiences with us so that we were able to make our own decisions. The links for some of these recommendations (some in particular, I have come to rely on, are below). I would never have thought of researching some of those ideas, let alone been able to find and understand it in the newborn haze so I would recommend the course for that reason.

I found the science behind the brain functions and sleeping patterns of babies fascinated and it really helped me to relax into knowing that there is not such a thing as ‘normal’ sleep for a baby.

I am the most confident that I can be in my parenting decisions because of the course. I would have been a much more ‘traditional NHS mum’ and not taken some of the slightly ‘alternative’ routes like babywearing and baby led weaning that I have done, and I would not have been so open to some of the attachment parenting ideas that I have adopted, at least in part. In retrospect, this course really helped to shape me as a Mama and in turn the hubby as a Daddy.

The Wonder Weeks http://www.thewonderweeks.com/gb/ You must read this or download the app! I have the book and app and at times it has been a complete lifesaver as it explains to me the developmental changes in my little man’s brain!

Babywearing http://babywearinginternational.org/

http://babycalm.co.uk/

https://www.facebook.com/BabycalmToddlercalmSussex?fref=ts

3 thoughts on “Top activities… BabyCalm

  1. Pingback: My ToddlerCalm session | mamavsteacher

  2. Pingback: Sussex Pregnancy and Family Fairs are COMING! | mamavsteacher

  3. Pingback: Worthing’s Pregnancy and Family Fair | mamavsteacher

I love to hear your ideas and thoughts on my posts so leave a reply

