Magic moments

image

The magic moments of a baby’s development come so quickly in the first few months. The slight lift of a head, the twitch of a smile, the moment when they first sit. As they get a bit older, the magic moments are often very small and so specific that only mama and dada realise…like seeing that they are able to direct the spoon more towards the pot, like bashing two different surfaces to feel/hear the different sounds and noticing the different tones of voice you use.

Last night though, we had one of the big ones. It is a moment that gets written into sprog’s record book and that made me weep a few proud tears of joy. As we were getting ready for bed and sprog was preparing for bed by rolling around in just his nappy, we stood him up and he slowly and considerately put one foot in front of the other and took 5 steps across the nursery floor before collapsing in an adorable little bundle.

I know these big magic moments will be fewer as he grows but I couldn’t be more proud of him. I’m looking forward to more of the little moments. The ones that only we notice as they fill our hearts with pure joy and happiness. Every time I think of how much he has changed and see him working out something new, my heart swells. The warmth he gives us and the sheer brilliance of his development blow my mind.

I am so very proud of my little man.

I love to hear your ideas and thoughts on my posts so leave a reply

