2 years of marriage

At this time of year I always become very reflective, it’s the end of the school year, our wedding anniversary, sprog’s birthday, so I find myself contemplating the changes that have happened and those that are about to happen.

Yesterday was our second wedding anniversary and as far as our day-to-day lives nothing has changed. Except that we do have less time for each other now.

It’s difficult to admit that we have less time for each. He’s my best friend and I want to be able to see him properly loads. It’s the ‘proper’ time together which is so scarce. We find ourselves ploughing through the routine of every day with sprog…breakfast, ready, out the door, when we get home it’s play, dinner, milk, bath, bed. A well oiled machine where we glide through, each with our assigned jobs that we have fallen into. But that is not what makes a marriage.

A marriage is the support that we give each other emotionally and physically. When I’m feeling rubbish, he knows and I get hugs without asking. And we both know each others stress times at work now and we know that during those periods we take up the flack for the other. So at revision time for hubby, I make sure that I do dinner, that I make lunches and I take sprog out to give him a quiet house. Equally, when times are busy at school, he does his share.  We’ve not really done this yet since I’ve gone back so we’ll have to see how that works.

And yes, those things are important in a marriage but we treasure some other things too. One of the things that I think defines us as a couple, not as mummy and daddy, is that we can be ridiculous and silly with each other. To the extent that we always end up laughing too loudly when we go out for dinner together (last night was a good example).

Marriage is enjoying the little, silly things, getting each other through the days and finding an ever deeper love as we appreciate each other all the more. He knows how much I love him and I would be mortified if he ever thought any different. He’s a fab hubby is my one.

image

One of my favourites from our wedding day.

image

Before the loud giggling at dinner!

I love to hear your ideas and thoughts on my posts so leave a reply

