Why I’m rubbish at Secret Santa’s

image This is the mad, uncertain and crazy ramblings of my brain. I am part of a group of bloggers doing a secret santa…eeeeee….squeaks and squeals…how exciting?!?!

However, I remembered, as I was linked up to my blogger, that I am terrible at Secret Santa’s. I never know if the person actually likes it…if they actually think it’s funny (answer = probably not, I’m not sure who thinks I’m funny)…if they actually think it’s lovely. See in my group of girls we do Secret Santa every year (there are 12 of us and otherwise Christmas is stoopid expensive), but in the group I am not the ‘funny’ one, the ‘witty’ one, the inappropriate but hilariously ‘rude’ one nor the ‘considerate’ one who knows everyone inside out…the result?! Self doubt and questioning. And welcome to the whirlwind that is my brain.

I can only hope that the lovely lady who is on the receiving end of my still undecided present, appreciates the thought…whether it be an attempt at funny or genuine kindness… Let’s hope she can even work out what I’m aiming for!!

Me add three

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

Mami 2 Five
El and Baby A
21 thoughts on “Why I’m rubbish at Secret Santa’s

  1. Hahaha! You think just like me!! I guess the bottom line to remember is that it’s meant to be fun, so if we get it wrong it’s not the end of the world. Maybe…. lol x

  2. Ha ha I’m sure it will be very much appreciated. Although the doubts you cite are the reason I didn’t put myself in a blogging Secret Santa. What if they blog about the fact that they hated it?!

  3. Secret Santa’s can be really easy if you know the person well but not so easy when you don’t. It’s the thought that counts, I hope your fellow blogger likes his / her present.

  4. Haha, I don’t think you’re alone in this. It’s so easy to over think these things and forget what’s it’s actually meant to be about. We’re meant to have fun with it & it’s the thought that counts. I would say that this post alone shows that you are putting a lot of thought into it and I’m sure the recipient will appreciate that. x

  5. OOh Ive just done mine for a colleague at work. Ive got her 3 lovely bottles of nail varnish, with a note saying ‘For your mistletoes’ …. thanks Pinterest! #christmascountdown

  6. Oh I know this feeling so well, I agonise over presents even for people I know well, so choosing for someone you hardly know is nearly impossible! Such a small budget too – agh! I am sure whatever you choose will be really appreciated, everyone is in the same boat 🙂 thanks for linking up to #ChristmasCountdown

  7. Me too!! I am crap. So crap. The WORST are the ones were you only get to spend £5…I mean what can you get a grown woman who has everything something for £5….????? Help. I always overspend and always worry that it’s pant. Ban it I say (although I always love whatever I get!) Jess xx #sundaystars

  8. I hate buying for people I dont know very well too. I think a present is exciting even if it’s socks (although a little less exciting maybe?) Thanks for linking up x
    #christmascollection

  9. Yes its hard isn’t it? I had the worse present ever in the work secret santa last year, I don’t think i really see the point of a booby prize, and I am rubbish at sticking to budget when buying too x

  10. I have exactly the same problem. I tend to buy people Santa hats or reindeer antlers. I am so boring at Secret Santa. Thanks for linking up with last week’s #SundaysStars. Sorry it has taken me so long to comment. Hugs Mrs H xxxx

I love to hear your ideas and thoughts on my posts so leave a reply

