The Teacher’s A – Z of Christmas

Unlike many of the other blogs I read, I am not able to spend hours making wonderful crafty bits with Sprog over December. So here’s an idea of how my Christmas period looks in my little History teaching world.

*Disclaimer – take all of these with a pinch of salt… many are true and the hard reality of a teachers life…some are a bit of fun*

image
A paper Christmas tree is just about as festive as it gets around here!

A
Agitated children – desperate to feel festive and free.

B
Bah Humbug to the workplace with no decorations, not even a tree!

C
Cold – the annual festive cold from work.

D
Department night out. This is always on a school night so that we can play take the piss out of the worst hangover the next day!

E
Elation at the final bell on the last day of term – us teachers literally bounce out of school.

F
Film lessons – shush! Don’t let senior leadership know!

G
Grumpy staff… “Leave me alone…I’d rather be drinking snowballs and eating mince pies”

H
Homework booklets to design for lots of “eager” students.

I
Inventive uses of cardboard boxes to make Christmas hampers for charity… you have never teachers so competitive, screw Sports Days, Christmas hampers are where it’s at!

J
Jealousy. I feel jealousy every school holidays towards parents who get to see their little people this often all year round.

K
Kids who are fed up of school, tired, grumpy and excited all at once.

L
Lack of presents; I’m a Secondary teacher which means that we get NOTHING. All you Primary teachers who get loads of chocolate and wine and biscuits and bath stuff … can go jump!

M
Mock exam marking… I have 30 sets of 3 ½ hour exam papers to mark over the holidays. Merry Christmas to me.

N
Nativity. No such fun in secondary schools I’m afraid. Sob sob.

O
Online shopping is surely the only way to get any shopping done when you work such silly hours!

P
Planning lessons for the next 5 weeks.

Q
Quiet voices. I do enjoy not having to feel the constant threat of my voice giving up after controlling excitable teens for the whole of December.

R
Rest and relaxation – I will manage some down time and hubby is off a lot which is great as we will get lots of family time.

S
Staff Secret Santa. A source of excitement and dread in equal measures around the school.

T
Tinsel around my computer screen, one of the little festive touches going.

U
Utter excitement. Maybe it is just me, but I LOVE Christmas.

V
Verging on crazy daisy at the amount of things (work) I need to do over the Christmas.

W
Wine. I plan to drink lots of it to help me forget about the term gone by and to help me to prepare for the next round.

X
Xhaustion…the key is in the word, I’m tired and it’s the letter ‘x’, enough said.

Y
Yule log – nothing to do with teachers – I literally just couldn’t think of anything else!

Zzzzzzz

And then the fun began...
Mums' Days

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

14 thoughts on “The Teacher’s A – Z of Christmas

  1. He hee – great little A-Z of a secondary school teacher’s Christmas! I’d never thought about it before but now I think about it, no, I never did give presents to teachers in secondary school! Having said that, it would be a big ask given the fact that you have a whole bunch of different teachers for different subjects by that stage! I always think of Secondary school life for teachers in the context of ‘Teachers’ and ‘Big School’ nowadays and it seems quite jolly! I’m sure that’s not always the case though! Thanks for linking up to The Truth about.. and sorry for the late comment! #thetruthabout

I love to hear your ideas and thoughts on my posts so leave a reply

