Seeing in New Year with a Toddler

This year many of my friends will be dashing off to Margate for a big New Year’s bash… so far the plans include home made chicken kebabs, Rapidough, beer pong, lava flows (something lovely and deliciously alcoholic originating from a girls wedding in Hawaii), and possibly some table tennis. Not the smashing roaring times of our late teens and early twenties but still some drinking, partying and a late night.

1928383_533041094822_6614_n

The ghost of New Years’ past – 2007 – lots and lots …and lots of alcohol!

My plans this year are still hazy and undecided. Last year, Sprog was so tiny that we were still working on the basis that when he slept, we slept. This year, I’m tempted to do just the same but I’m not sure so I thought I’d see what the options are.

1. Let the kids stay up
Some people might suggest that this New Year, you let the kids stay up late with you. Erm…. mine is only 16 months old. There is no way on earth that this is an option. He will go stroppy mental toddler meltdown mode on me. Nuh Uh… he sleeps!

2. Find a Babysitter
Others might suggest that we find a babysitter. Does anyone get a good case of the guilt’s when they ask for babysitters? I think it’s probably because Sprog spends a lot of time with family during the day when I’m at work that I don’t like asking for anything extra and it also makes me feel like a rubbish mum. New Year is the same as asking for a babysitter on Valentines Day, no-one would really choose to give it up for you so don’t ask.

3. A kids movie night

popcornOne lovely lady suggested that she would offer to be the family babysitter for all the kids of all the family members and have a movie night for all of the kids. I totally love this idea and if Sprog was not the only small child in the family then this would rock! We could take it in turns each year!

4. Sleep as usual

zzz One of my favourite options… do nothing different! Sprog needs to sleep, we need to sleep, he’ll still be awake at 7 a.m. and there’s no magic fairy who is going to take care of him if we want to sleep then. I don’t know about you but as I get older (you know, the grand old age of 28 now!) I really can’t be bothered with the hangover that comes from more than 2 glasses of wine, especially with an early rising child so sleep always sounds like a good option.

5. Have an early evening party

crown I’m coming round to this idea the more that I think about it. A small early evening gathering of family, friends, just the 3 of us…whoever really, with some music, some party hats, balloons, a ‘special’ drink for everyone to toast with (could be as simply as some orange juice for the little ones) and some party poppers. Just a little something to mark the New Year in with. I loved a few of the ideas I saw about making party crowns together … I mean even a small baby can splodge some paint on the page before it’s cut out into a crown shape. Another idea, which I think is beautiful, is making a wishes tree. Grab a twig/branch from the garden, stick it in a pot and then on bits of paper write down wishes for the New Year. They could be as simple as ‘learning to write my name’ or thoughtful like ‘seeing grandma more often’ or (probably more likely from children, and husbands) silly ones ‘have a penguin as a pet’ then stick a hole in the paper, loop some string through it and tie to the tree. Leave them for a couple of days, come back to them and choose one each to stick on the fridge. I think this is a truly lovely idea but am a little bit sad that Sprog won’t be able to do this yet…maybe next year.

When I tested the waters with hubby earlier, he didn’t seem to be a fan of the last option (sad face) partly because he wants to get on with painting the kitchen in the evenings this week. We have some make over work to do on the house as we are planning to put in on the market soon. I’m thinking that I might rebel a little bit though. I shall have to see what wondrous things one can find in the local supermarket to help me create a bit of a New Year partay vibe all up in this house!

What do you think you’ll do? How old do you think a little person should be before they can stay up and be involved?

If you like what you’ve been reading, why not follow me over on Bloglovin’?!

The List
16 thoughts on “Seeing in New Year with a Toddler

  1. Last New Year’s Eve we had some friends over for dinner, that way B could still go to bed when he got tired and then we ate and drank – I did make my excuses and go to bed a little earlier than the others. This year we have been invited to a friends dinner party. They said we could bring B and put him down to sleep in their room but then grandparents offered to have him overnight instead. I like the idea of early eve parties though for when they are older.

  2. I’m in the same boat with a cheeky 18 month old. I think celebrating with family/friends earlier in the evening is the best option. I too, wouldn’t want to get a babysitter and honestly – like you – having to get up at 7am every day means I will probably collapse before midnight anyway! Oh men…they always have to disagree with all the great ideas don’t they! 😉

  3. Our little boy is 2 & still doesn’t sleep so there’ll be no partying for us. We’ll be having a couple of friends round for some food & a couple of drinks to see the New Year in then it’ll be bed! X

  4. Pingback: This is how we… welcomed in 2015! | mamavsteacher

  5. Love these ideas for new year and definitely think I will be trying them for 2015. I’m also 28 and seriously don’t like drinking anymore than 2 glasses of wine because i start to feel hungover. Nobody said this to me when I got pregnant lol. Anyway, fab ideas. Thanks for sharing. #TheList

  6. We never go out for new years eve and never really have done since I’ve been with my OH. He gets up for work at 5 each morning so would never make it til 12! Instead usually one of our friends invites everyone over (usually around 20 of us) with their families for lunch on new year’s day. It’s lovely because we still get to sleep the night before, but get to celebrate the new year with friends afterwards.

    There was talk yesterday about doing an evening one year, but N’s only 4 so not sure I’d want to do that for a few year, unless there was somewhere he could go to sleep if he wanted. #thelist

  7. I have 3 children, 5, 3 and 18mo, and they were all in bed by 7pm, me and DH then had a nice home cooked meal, watched some of the rubbish new years eve TV and fell asleep, then woke to fireworks just before midnight and sat looking out the window at loads of pretty fireworks and noticed the elderly couple across the road had more willpower then us as they were outside watching them and we were in PJ’s and had been sleeping, but they they don’t have 3 children to run around after the next morning. I do love the early party though so I might log that for next year. #thelist

  8. Ha ha I know the feeling. Our toddler was snoring by 9pm, we were in bed before midnight and I think our tween actually ended up staying up later than us as she sneakily watched dvds in her room until 2am! It’s funny, the best new years I ever had, even when I was younger was just a few friends round mine with a few drinks and lots of laughs. Happy New Year!

  9. We always get together with friends who also have children but ours are older the youngest is 9, we have probably done this for about 6 years, they love it x

I love to hear your ideas and thoughts on my posts so leave a reply

