My First Blogiversary

JpegOne year a go, I was hanging some washing on the line as the sun shone and had a crazy idea that maybe I would write a blog.

At that point, I was nearing the end of my maternity leave and was full of anticipation, and anxiety, about returning to work. It’s sad in a way but it feels far more than 12 months and it still upsets me every so often that I am not home with Sprog more often.

Until this point, I had only ever read a couple of blogs. The main two that I had been enjoying were Hannah’s Make Do and Push, she’d been doing a fab series about what was in people’s changing bags and I loved being nosey into other people’s bags. The other was Lauren at Belle Du Brighton who’s little girl is just a few months older than Sprog and their adventures and developments gave me someone else to relate to. You see I was the first of my friends to have a baby. And if that wasn’t also you, then you can’t understand what that’s like. Everyone wants to see and play with the baby, everyone knows that you’re tired. But none of your friends know what it’s like to be woken every hour by little baby cries, or to feel completely clueless about how to keep a small person alive!

In these 2 blogs, I had started to find comfort in the things they faced and the milestones that their little ones achieved. I had no idea about the blogging world at all… I remember Googling a ‘widget’, a ‘linky’, and ‘Tots100’ and wondering what on earth they are. I’ve managed to create a blog button…kind of, it still doesn’t appear correctly on my sidebar but nevermind! I still find myself searching for the answers on how to do things! The next big task is to finally get myself some social media logo links but I have no idea how to do that at the moment.

Blog buttonNow, things are vastly different. I follow several bloggers who’s writing and stories about their families I adore. I know that I have some bloggers who really care about what is happening to me and mine and enjoy watching us grow as a family just as much as I do by watching theirs. I even have some awesome little business cards with Sprog in a starring role!

I have had a few amazing opportunities some of which my Husband and I are pleasantly surprised by how great they are, some we do wonder a great deal about! I’m most proud of having been a guest reviewer for One Chic Mom online magazine and most grateful for the opportunity to attend The Baby Show in London a few weeks ago. To have worked with some great brands like Baker Days, My Buddy-Box and Baby Sensory and to have some new stuff coming up with Tommee Tippee is far beyond what I thought would be possible when I spontaneously decided to write a blog.

cake1  4  12

I thought I’d link up my first ever post to this which was about my lack of domestic prowess…I can’t say that this has improved in the last 12 months.  What has improved is my writing! I can remember that post taking me about 45 minutes to write as I was so nervous about everything I put down.

I’m excited about where blogging could take me.  I still don’t think that I could become a full time pro blogger but I do have a few ideas that I would like to investigate and push further.  I’ve really enjoyed writing a few more crafty blogs recently so there may well be a few more of them coming up and I’m still incredibly passionate about promoting a work-life balance for other Mama’s and Daddy’s (and hopefully for myself!!) so I will definitely continue to focus on that.  I will be continuing #BalancingAct for as long as I can find people interesting in joining me as readers tell me that they find it really great to see the variety in people’s lives!

So, thanks for listening to my rants and raves, highs and lows, excitement and sad times… You’ve all been so supportive and I can’t explain how humbling it is that you all read what I write.  When I started off, I think there were probably only 10 people reading me which was mainly a couple of my friends and my family… now (at the last check) I’m ranked 519 in the Tots100 rankings and I can’t believe it!

I’m off to eat a bit more of the cake I bought myself to celebrate!

DSC_2246

If you think you’d like to follow my posts more often then mamavsteacher

The Dad Network
Running in Lavender

 

Mummascribbles
38 thoughts on “My First Blogiversary

  1. Happy Blogiversary! Glad you took the leap from laundry to blogging that day. It’s been fun to read your blog. I keep meaning to revisit…but forget and don’t come back for weeks at a time. Luckily you linked to the #BigFatLinky and it was easy enough for me to click and pop on over.

    You’ve done a great job in a year, I’m really looking forward to the next year of your blog and many thereafter.

    Make it a great day!

  2. Happy blogiversary! Congrats on reaching the one year mark! You’ve done so well and come so far! Love your blog and looking forward to seeing it flourish even further over the next 12 months 🙂 Jess xx #sundaystars

  3. Happy blogiversary! I loved reading an overview of how your blog evolved. I sometimes feel as though mine will always just be read by my mum – although I know she enjoys it so maybe that should’ve enough for me 🙂

  4. Congratulations. I have just come across your blog via #mummymondays I feel like I am in a similar position I started blogging last May but in some ways I don’t feel like I have really found my feet yet, although this is slowly coming I think.
    Social media buttons are like most things easy when you know how, I searched on pinterest for free blog buttons and found some that you are allowed to use, then found a tutorial… I am pretty sure it was a Potty Mouthed Mummy tutorial and it was great. x

  5. Aww, happy blogiversary lovely! It’s lovely reading this, knowing you have already got so much from blogging and it has opened so many doors for you! I’m reaching the six month mark this week and it’s all flown by, still on huge learning curve but it’s a great journey isn’t it! Congrats xx

  6. Somewhat belatedly, happy blogiversary! It’s great how blogging can open up new creative avenues for us that we could never have imagined at the outset. Enjoy your second year! #twinklytuesday

  7. Congratulations lovely! You know I’m a huge fan of your blog and the balancing act is one of my faves  It’s funny how you remember exactly what you were doing when you decided to start blogging – I have no idea where I was! Thanks for linking up withy #twinklytuesday

I love to hear your ideas and thoughts on my posts so leave a reply

