A change of tactics

I am momentarily and temporarily done with Slimming World.

It’s nothing to do with the plan.  I love the plan.

It’s to do with my head space.  I’m done with feeling like my success or failure is determined by a number on the scale.

Last week, I wrote about feeling so happy with how my week had gone. I got weighed in and somehow put on a pound… before anyone suggests muscle, it just cannot have possibly been. When I have a bad weigh in, it throws me off for at least a couple of days.

There is no need for this because I had been feeling great leading up to that weigh in.

If this were the first time, it would be manageable, but I’m constantly feeling knocked down and not good enough.

So the change is this… just listening to my Slimpod, using my FitBit to track my activity and eating reasonably.

I will be measuring my waist with a piece of ribbon, that’s it.  No more feeling good or bad about myself dependent on a number on a scale… hopefully!

So here’s my weekly “ribbon in” photo!

Ribbon in 1

#BloggingToJogging
Mama and More

14 thoughts on “A change of tactics

  1. Sometimes it’s easy to get bogged down in the numbers, especially when you are having a bad week weight wise.

    I can get really obsessed with the numbers, especially when i’m stressed and eating everything in sight. At the moment we are mid moving continents and trying to resettled in the UK, but away from family, so it’s a little stressful, and I eat when stressed. Holiday in four weeks and I was trying to get “bikini ready” but it’s practically impossible when feeling like this.

    So something has to give, and for now it’s the diet and exercise.

    Love the ribbon idea though!

    • I felt like I had to give myself a break as I’ve spent the last year feeling rubbish about the same 4 pounds on and off so I’m ignoring the numbers for a bit. Good luck sweetie, I’m sure that you have more control than you realise… have you thought about trying the Slimpods? I’d recommend them for helping with your head space!

  2. What a fantastic idea! Simply getting back to basics – hope it works out well chick, keep us posted! If you find yourself tiring of a diet, trying something new will give you a new boost. The FitBit is really addictive and will keep you going! Hope you are well chick! Sim #WeightLossWednesday xx

  3. Good for you! It is so easy to get fixated by the number on the scale isn’t it? WHen it isn’t the be all and end all of everything. I think your plan sounds fab and I like you ribbon measurement. Best of luck! xx

  4. Great way of measuring your progress. The ribbon is such a positive attitude and I think it’s great. It’s not all about the numbers, it’s about how you feel as well. I am just embarking on the Slim Fast diet, not sure how well I am going to stick to the plan, but so far today I have enjoyed my breakfast shake and I’m happily munching my way through my meal bar! I have no idea what a slimpod is though! Something I am going to have to google!! Ray xx #allaboutyou

  5. I’m debating quitting too. I’m finding it too hard to concentrate on counting syns and watching everything I eat. I’ve maintained for the last 4 weeks and it just seems a waste of money to pay each week when I’m then going home and not following plan. The plan is good and it works but I’m just not motivated by it at the mo

I love to hear your ideas and thoughts on my posts so leave a reply

