The start of Operation Happy Mama

So the summer holidays are upon us, and for the teacher in me that means a serious break and time for reflection.

I’ve had a tough couple of months, with very little time for reflection or time for my own thoughts.

So I have a new project this summer… and that is ‘me’.

Every summer for the last few years, we’ve had a project…wedding planning, wedding and honeymoon, have the baby that was hanging out in my massive belly, play and stimulate Sprog as he was becoming more capable. This summer is the summer for me.

At our end of year school church service yesterday the themes were hope, courage and remembering. The first two are things that I have definitely been lacking in the past few weeks and it brought it home to me that I really do need to look after myself before I am able to be Mama or Teacher very well at all.

I have been trudging blindly through the last month or so with no focus on myself, no censor on what I’ve been eating and how I’ve been treating my body, I’ve not had the energy. I’ve also not had any time for the small pleasures for myself.

image

So I’ve started the holiday like this….
– Dinner out with friends who make me laugh, a lot
– A little lie in
– Painted my toes
– Dyed my hair
– Cleaned the bedroom a little
– Washed up
– Done a load of clothes washing
– Had a satisfying and big healthy lunch
– Started a 30 fitness challenge on hubby’s ipad
– Sat at the beach with friends for 4 hours this afternoon
– Not eaten any of the naughties on offer there
– Listened to my Slimpod
– Organised the food for Sprog’s birthday party
– Ordered a new rucksack for Sprog’s stuff when we go out for the day
– Watched some of my trashy TV that is recorded
– Giggled with the hubby as we practiced our cake sculpting for Sprog’s birthday cake

I don’t think that’s a bad start really!

I’ll be checking in with updates over the summer holidays, my aim is just to feel a bit better about myself and be ready to take on my new school in September in a better personal head space! If I manage to loose a few lbs along the way, that would be just grand!

#BloggingToJogging
You Baby Me Mummy
Mami 2 Five
Mama-andmore
20 thoughts on “The start of Operation Happy Mama

  1. Yay! What a fantastic start to the summer, I’m so happy to read this because you really do have to look after yourself to be able to look after others. Have a great summer! Thanks for linking with #BloggingToJogging xx

  2. You are so right, we end up focusing on everything else other than ourselves and diet goes to pot as we run from one thing to another – I think this is a great idea, I hope you have a great relaxing Summer with your family. x #TheList

  3. Fab love it – and the name Operation Mama! Funny as I am sort of doing the same thing – hairdressers booked, shopping spree (including a new nail varnish), meeting a friend I haven’t seen for ages and organising a friends night for all the people I keep saying “lets have a coffee” and then don’t! xxx

  4. Love it and good for you, it’s easy to forget you and then you do a few little things and you feel so much better. Keep it up :0) #sundaystars

  5. Looks like you’re off to a great start!! It’s so easy to forget that we are people too when we become parents!! #sundaystars

  6. Pingback: Operation happy mama – First update | mamavsteacher

  7. This is brilliant. You have made a fantastic start. Sometimes just acknowledging that you need to concentrate on your self is hugely important. I really hope that this summer leads to you becoming a much happier mama and teacher. Thanks for linking up to #SundaysStars. Hugs Mrs H xxxx

I love to hear your ideas and thoughts on my posts so leave a reply

