Starting to learn about shapes

I’d never really considered it before SHAPE week for #Imaginationmatters but it would seem that we hadn’t been discussing shapes with Sprog.

This became evident when we did some potato printing at the start of the week and he had very little comprehension of the names of shapes.

image

So I got my teacher brain into gear and we went right back to basics.  I bought a packet of foam sheets a while back and used this as I know it’s much more hard wearing than any paper or card that I could use.

Firstly I introduced Sprog to the shapes, all the same colour so that we weren’t tempted to discuss that instead.

image

We then tried to play a game of hiding some of the shapes and Sprog trying to guess which ones were missing, I tried this one shape at a time but still he didn’t understand the shapes well enough.

image

This morphed into a game of matching the larger shapes that I’d cut out with some of the smaller shapes and identifying when they were the same or different.

image

Since then, we’ve taken them in the 4 hour car journey to Wales and they got used by Sprog and hubby as entertainment and we’ve been talking about shapes a lot more.

We’ve now come to a point where Sprog is able to identify a circle 90% of the time and can say ‘rectangle’, ‘square’ and ‘triangle’. This is definitely an improvement on last week so we’ll keep going I suppose and introduce some more complex games later on.

LarabeeUK
Mamavsteacher

Mummascribbles

23 thoughts on “Starting to learn about shapes

  1. I really like the idea of cutting out the shapes in different sizes and using it as a hands on game instead of just seeing it in a book.

  2. This is a really great idea! Especially because they’re tangible. We have lots of shape books but nothing Evie can really hold, apart from balls and rings really. What a clever idea! xx #toddlerapprovedtuesday

  3. This is a great idea. Yes, I think I only intermittently remember to name shapes too! We had some success with circle, but don’t think toddler could name any other shapes. She can fetch the right ones of the circle, triangle and star that go in her wooden trolley, but she may well be doing that on colour rather than shape name! Particularly like the little and large ones to match together. #imagination matters.

    • He can definitely match them for his shape sorters, he’s been able to do that for ages but to know them and verbalise them, I was surprised that we hadn’t been discussing it more

  4. This is a great idea for learning shapes! I wish I had had a similar method for learning colours when my daughter was little as she took a long time to get to grips with them.

  5. It is easy to go on sometimes without realising that we have missed something such as shape teaching, but it isn’t surprising when you realise that they need to be taught about just about every aspect of life that we take for granted !
    I found a great way was to make big shapes, starting with just 2 that are easy to tell apart like circle and square, and then use them as targets for competitions e.g. can you run to the square ? Can you hop to the circle ? This makes it lots of fun and cuts down on frustration if they get it wrong because you can distract them with the next challenge. Once they have the 2 shapes sorted you can introduce the next one and so on :-)Another good one is to bake shaped biscuits and they get to eat it when they get it right….great motivation (and you get to eat it when they get it wrong lol)
    Good luck 🙂 x
    Sarah x

  6. I think lots of children (and adults) learn better touching and feeling shapes (or whatever topic you’re looking at) than just reading and looking at pictures in a book.

  7. So creative! I remain intrigued about how children learn, it confounds me over and over again with my toddler.

    Thanks for sharing how you’ve introduced shapes to him; such fun watching him master it, i bet!

    We have a shape post box type toy that I have been using for a while with my toddler, but we’ve got a long way to go. #TheBloggingMumsClub

  8. Well done sprog 🙂 it’s amazing that such a simple thing helped him to learn so quickly. They really are sponges these little brains! Zach is quite good with his shapes as his favourite thing for a while was his rocket shape sorter. I think that really helped him pick it up early on. This this is a great idea though so might do it and test him hehe! Thanks so much for linking up with #TwinklyTuesday

  9. My son is 21 months old and we are on track to finish colors soon. I was planning to start shapes late this summer, mix in some other miscellaneous themes, and start numbers after Christmas.

I love to hear your ideas and thoughts on my posts so leave a reply

