The Second Birthday cake

I have a bit of a thing about a kids birthday cake. It’s a little irrational, very strong and maybe it’s encouraged by a bit of working Mama guilt. I’ve been trying to convince myself that this is not the case.

I believe that I, in my role as Mama, have an annual responsibility to make my kids birthday cakes. I am not a baker. I have baked nothing in the last 12 months…since Sprogs first birthday!

All I can say is thank goodness I only have 1 child at the moment!

So with Sprog’s birthday party today, yesterday turned into the second annual baking day. Thankfully this year, considering the amount of work involved in the decoration hubby baked the actual cakes! Phew! This takes away my usual concern about them being edible!

If you’ve been following me, particularly on Instagram, then you will have seen a few snippets as I was going yesterday.

image

By now, the seasoned parents among you will undoubtedly recognise some of these characters from a delightfully weird kids programme…before anyone notices the obvious flaws I was embracing the whole concept of In The Night Garden… There was no sense of size and proportion in that place as the Ninky Nonk and Pinky Ponk in particular regularly change size in comparison to our friendly night time revellers! I went with that idea as a spent my evenings crafting Ha Hoos and Pontypines out of icing!

It might seem like a lot of effort, and after nearly 6 hours of standing in the kitchen yesterday my legs agreed. Somehow though, I really enjoy my annual baking day. I love making the characters and playing with the icing. Sprog and hubby snuck a peak when they got in from playing at the beach and Sprog instantly recognised the characters (PHEW) and his grin was enormous. I’d do anything for that smile so it was all worth it! 

So here’s the big reveal for this year…I’ve got a lot of improvement on last year and I’m so excited about getting it out at his party this afternoon. We’ve been practicing singing Happy Birthday and blowing out a candle so he should know what’s going on!

image

What is your biggest baking achievement? Besides making stuff from icing…I can do a mean lemon drizzle cake but not much else!

Mummascribbles</div

18 thoughts on “The Second Birthday cake

  1. Yayyy well done lovely! I have also tasked myself with the baking of zach’s cake each year and so my biggest achievements have been his two so far! The first was the number one in a jungle theme and last year was a Thomas cake. I think this year is going to be a dinosaur…aaaargh!! It’s so fab though when you look at it and think, I done that! Looks fab so huge pat on the back 🙂

  2. What an awesome cake! I wish I could make something that great! I love baking but haven’t had a chance since having my second bub, but this has given me the kick up the bum I needed to start again! x 😀 #twinklytuesday

  3. Very cool! I made my daughter’s 2nd and 3rd birthday cakes! This one is fabulous! All the hard work, it must have taken some time! Congratulations it loos lovely! I bet sprog loves it!

    Angela from daysinbed.com

I love to hear your ideas and thoughts on my posts so leave a reply

