What does buying “Good Housekeeping” say about me?

When I stood quietly in front the magazine rack at my local supermarket, I took in the massive range of bright and shiny covers all with their individual promises to change my life. For once I was routed to the floor, a little overwhelmed by the choice.

I could have chosen one the many cheap and cheerful trashy magazines. Plastered with random people with their stomachs bared… some of them are “overweight”, some are “underweight”, some are happy, some are miserable but they are all being judged. Honestly, I don’t really care.

I could have chosen a crafty magazine. Sewing, knitting, crocheting… and lets throw the cooking magazines in here too. All full of wonderful and inspiring ideas. My house would look and smell utterly amazing if I had even the slightest bit of time to implement any of this ideas. The only purpose they would serve would be to remind me that I am not living in a distant decade where women stayed at home, that I work because at the moment I have to and it means that I will never have time to make these things.

I could have chosen a baby magazine but with Sprog having turned 2, there’s very little that would have been actually useful to my random parenting stumbling through the Toddler years. The only magazines helping me through this are the kids ones with silly stickers and tiny plastic toys that he isΒ  guaranteed to be obsessed with and then heartbroken because we’ve lost the tiny Iggle Piggle toy in our disaster of a house.

I could have chosen a wedding magazine. We had a 2 1/2 year engagement. I was pretty addicted to these. They are just full of so many pretty things. But I’m already married so unfortunately this purchase would have been weird.

So it came down to the glossy magazines. They offer such an exclusive lifestyle of expensive “fashion” (stop me if I’m wrong, but does any normal person wear any of that stuff?! I can’t imagine that many people buying these magazines can spend Β£1000 on a handbag!). They are emblazoned with superstars on the covers…again, this is no way resembles my life…there’s no accessory of Toddler snot on them!

What I settled upon was Good Housekeeping and I have been loving it on my train journey today. Admittedly I may have initially been pulled in by the pretty pink cover but beyond that there have been some great articles about inspirational women who have fought against the odds to make things better for themselves and their families, who have changed their lives hugely. There’s the wonderful Sue Perkins on the cover who seems to be a normal woman, not super skinny, not shaped and morphed into a puppet by show business but just a nice, lovely lady.

It looks like there might be some great recipes coming up too… I’m sure I’ll enjoying have a look at them! Maybe not getting round to making them but you never know we’ve got friends over for dinner on Friday!

I’m not sure how the commuters on this lovely and snug train home will judge me for reading Good Housekeeping… but I don’t care…I think it’s great actually!

image

The Twinkle Diaries
6 thoughts on “What does buying “Good Housekeeping” say about me?

  1. Haha I also pick up Good Housekeeping which keeps my friends amused, as I team it with Vogue! I enjoy a lot of the recipes and ideas in there, and the web page is also fantastic for tips and tricks for busy mums. #twinklytuesday
    rockingmummysworld.wordpress.com

    • I really loved it… a few people have taken the mick out of me for reading it but I’m not sure that I care! It was nice to read a sensible magazine – I’m aware that makes me sound ancient! 😦

  2. Haha, it’s true, like we go through phases of magazines through our lives. It started off with Smash Hits and Just 17 in my teens, Glamour and Heat Magazine in my 20s, and then I had a Knit With Me phase in my 30s, and now it’s Style at Home in my mid-30s. Haven’t got to Good Housekeeping yet, maybe I’ll try it! Sabrina xx #twinklytuesday

  3. Brilliant – love this! I know what you mean about the vast amount of choices with magazines and trying to find something that you can relate to. The glossy ones always make me wonder if anyone really spends that kind of money on handbags too! I’ve read Good Housekeeping a few times and enjoyed it. What’s worse is that I occasionally have a read of my mother-in-law’s copy of Saga magazine and enjoy that too – now what does that say about me?! πŸ™‚

  4. Haha!! I literally just had this conversation with a friend this week!!! I think GH is a great mag β€” my MIL has it and I always get sucked in! I have Red mag on subscription β€” that’s my absolute fave. Always some great articles, plus a sprinkling of fashion and home too. I HATE the trash mags β€” never buy them. Although they’re the ones I make a bee-line for in the doctors waiting room!! πŸ˜‰ Thanks so much for linking up with #TwinklyTuesday

I love to hear your ideas and thoughts on my posts so leave a reply

