The Strictly effect!

We’ve been hit by the Strictly effect in our house.

We record it (obvs…who has time to watch TV live any more) on a Saturday evening and then watch it in dribs and drabs throughout the week.

I love to imagine that Hubby can whisk me around the dance floor like Kevin from Grimsby and shimmy his hips like the wonderfully talented Aljaz. I imagine that I am as toned, elegant and as gorgeous as Darcy (as an ex ballerina, until the age of 13 which does still count, she’s a goddess in my world). And occasionally I allow myself to imagine Sprog being able to make his wife swoon with his dancing skills…I get told off for this one though… Something about being a pushy parent!

Hubby is already mourning the loss of Ola from the competition… Enough said.

And Sprog?! Oh my giddy engine (quick Chuggington reference there…I know it’s not cool but I love it!), he freaking loves it.

What is genuinely wonderful to watch is how he is beginning to interpret the music and try out a few new moves. He has a few crazy moves where he’s whole body goes wild! This weekend he started wanting to hold my hands and sway from side to side for a little bit.

One of the funniest things he noticed last week is everytime one of the female dancers threw their head backwards to hang upside down… Elegantly of course.  He has now perfected this move whilst sitting down and has graduated to letting me hold him “in hold” and let him need backwards… Still sitting at the moment but just you wait, we’ll be spinning round the lounge in no time.

My favourite thing about the Strictly effect? It is opening Sprog to the freedom of expressing himself through the music and movement. It is utterly free play, I just let him go for it…Although I’m usually dragged into it and there is only so much spinning in a circle that I can take!

image

Mama and Sprog dancing to the foxtrot

image

Daddy always gets involved too

image

And this is what happens when Sprog really lets loose!

Mamavsteacher
My Kid Doesn't Poop Rainbows

Mummascribbles

LarabeeUK
25 thoughts on “The Strictly effect!

  1. Ahh love this…. my hubby is also mourning the loss of Ola too…. I love SCD, I just think iust has everything a Saturday family show should 🙂 Popping over from #magicmoments and #fartglitter

  2. Brilliant. I love Strictly too, and it’s basically the only programme I’m allowed on by my OH – usually he has remote control. I’m sure he sneaks a look at the women anyway.

    N takes a look although it usually clashes with bedtime, but he loves to dance too. Mostly the bottom hip wiggle thanks to the OH teaching him crude moves from an early age (think strip tease style with a towel as they get out of the bath/shower – I despair!). But now he’s trying out a few more normal moves. Although he told me he wasn’t going to the school disco. #magicmoments

  3. That looks such fun! We love Strictly too – the costumes, the couples, the judges – it’s one of our Saturday highlights. Your photos are so funny! #fartglitter

  4. I love Strictly! huge fans in this house, though it is a treat for when the kids have gone to bed – although after reading this, I may have to put it on in the day and see how my little ones respond to it! My eldest (3) loves to dance so hopefully he’ll love Strictly as much as I do. Currently typing this whilst I catch up on tonight’s ‘It Takes Two’ 🙂 #twinklytuesday

  5. Oh I love Sprog’s dancing and the fact that he tries to tip his head back in hold. I blogged about my youngest dancing along to Strictly last week – she loves it and tries to copy what the dancers are doing. Her tango pout is the funniest thing. So lovely for children to express themselves through dance 🙂

  6. Oh my, that is the cutest thing ever! My Latina friend was berating me for not dancing enough with my tot. Perhaps family viewings of Strictly are in order. At the moment when I dance with him I just get some ‘Have you totally lost your mind?’ looks. From baby and wife.

    Thanks so much for linking up with #fartglitter xx

  7. Love this! The photos are great (wish it was video though 😉) we love strictly too, I think it’s lovely to have great family Saturday night entertainment. Thanks for linking up to #toddlerapprovedtuesday this week xx

  8. Oh what a little mover you have there. Zach is pretty into dancing at the moment. He doesn’t need an excuse, sometimes he just starts singing and having a wiggle – I love it. Such great photos you have here 🙂 Thanks so much for linking up with #TwinklyTuesday

I love to hear your ideas and thoughts on my posts so leave a reply

