Toilet roll hearts!

As I said the other day, I love the fact that I can find time to get my craft on with Sprog during the holidays and this time around I am loving sharing the ideas that I came discovered with you.

Now this design may be a little bit late for Valentine’s Day but bear with me. We’ve actually used this to create an engagement card for Sprog’s godparents who got engaged on Valentine’s Day and if you were feeling a bit romantic at another time of year it’s a dead simple thing to do when you already have the paints out as a little treat for your other half or for grandparents (they always love a bit of grandchild art don’t they?!)

It starts off very simple and just gets easier so let me take you through the steps.


Materials

Toilet roll

Sticky tape

Paint

Card

1. Save a toilet roll from the recycling bin and squish (this is my technical term) it into a heart shape.

2. To make it stay heart shaped, stick a couple of bits of tape over the round bits of the heart and it won’t bounce out of shape.

hearts 1

3. Put some red paint (or another colour of your choice) on to a plate or painting palette. I found it easier if I spread it out a little for Sprog.

4. Dip the tube in the paint and go crazy on your piece of card.  Now the teacher in me needs to say that this might be a weird concept to your little person if they haven’t done it before so show them once as an example and model how you dip the tube and put it on the card. After that they should be good to go!

hearts 2  hearts 3

So go crazy! I’d love to see any examples that you make or just let me know how you tweak it to make non-Valentines crafts.

Mami 2 Five



LarabeeUK

Introducing Button Bunny

image

This is Button Bunny.
He has come home with Sprog from nursery to stay for the week. He loves carrots! He has diary where Daddy and I have to record what he’s been up to.
He has his own hashtag so watch out for #adventuresofbuttonbunny on instagram this week. Follow me to see what he’s upto!

OneDad3Girls